Skip to Content

College of Information and Communications

  • Friends and colleagues signed a copy of "Where the Wild Things Are" for the retiring Dr. Pat. Pat is holding the book.

    Friends and colleagues signed a copy of "Where the Wild Things Are" for the retiring Dr. Pat.

Pat Feehan feted at annual lecture

Posted April 19, 2016

The School of Library and Information Science honored students, faculty and community leaders at the annual Deans' and Directors' Lecture and Awards ceremony held on April 14, 2016. But the traditional lecture was replaced with a "Hats off to Pat" storytelling event, honoring Dr. Pat Feehan (video on right). Alumni and friends from across the nation sang, performed skits and roasted Feehan who is retiring after 28 years on the school's faculty.

The evening began with an awards ceremony, recognizing students who were inducted into Beta Phi Mu, the library and information science honors society. Inductees were selected based on character, academics and professionalism. The initiates were: Georgina Dempsey, Oletia Cathleen Faircloth, Kaanan Jharell Lewis, and Jessica NuckollsInducted in absentia were Taylor Atkinson, Mandy Marie Hawkins, Ruth Camille McCutcheon, Charlsye Preston-Briegel and Ashley Ware.

Special awards were presented to individuals who are involved in the community, passionate about library and information science and invested in the school. 

Carolyn Delton Service Award

Sponsored by LISSA, this award honors individuals who go above and beyond what they need to do for everyone at the school.

Dr. Heather Moorefield-Lang
While she has not been with us here at USC SLIS for very long, Dr. Heather Moorefield-Lang is making a difference in our community already, consistently going above and beyond her requirements and duties as an assistant professor, including volunteering with Cocky’s Reading Express and serving as a faculty advisor for the Library and Information Science Student Association. She invests herself in every class and student with whom she interacts, and is always willing to help anyone and everyone with citations, research questions, and technology tools.

Angela Wright
Angela Wright is the first person you see upon entering the administrative offices of SLIS. Always ready and willing to help anyone who needs her, she possesses the ability to make anyone feel welcome and comfortable with her bright smile. Angela has been especially helpful to LISSA as our financial liaison as well as aiding in our fundraising efforts, answering our myriad questions, and offering to help in any way she is able. Her work truly exemplifies what it means to go the extra mile in assisting others, and is a testament to her admirable character.

Robert V. Williams SLIS Student Research Award

This award honors students who have made exemplary contributions to scholarly research.

Donna Ciriello and Alisha Polkowsky were honored for their project "All in the Family:  Family Programming at your Library."

Shinelle Polite was honored for "Equal Opportunity and Representation:  A Case Study of LIS Diversity Recruitment Programs."

Wayne S. Yenawine Distinguished Student Award

This annual award is given to a student with outstanding potential in the field of library and information science. This award is presented to a graduate from the previous year's class based on the entirety of the student experience including grade point average, quality of class participation  and the ability to assimilate information and pass it on.

Travis Wagner
Travis holds a B.A. in History from Augusta State University (GA) and an MLIS from the University of South Carolina (USC). He also earned a Graduate Certificate in Women’s and Gender Studies at USC and is still a teaching assistant and lecturer within that department. He is a cataloger and processing intern at the University of South Carolina’s Moving Image Research Collections and also works as a consultant to multiple Columbia-based community archives, specifically honing in on preserving and digitizing fragile audio-visual materials.

John N. Olsgaard Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the school at large through a sharing of their time and expertise and is an outstanding representative of the profession, the school and the university.

Dean Emeritus Fred Roper
Dr. Fred Roper has been a valuable part of the school since 1986. He served as dean and professor until his retirement in 2003.  He continues to attend all of the South Carolina library association meetings where he holds court  and where many of his former students stop by and continue to sing his praises.  In addition to sharing his time and expertise, he is very generous with his financial resources and with his prize-winning pound cakes.

F. William Summers Outstanding Alumni Award

This award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the school and  whose career reflects a commitment to excellence and dedication to the advancement of the profession.

Melanie Huggins
Melanie Huggins is the executive director of the Richland Library in Columbia, and a noted expert in the areas of strategic planning, collaborations, leadership development and library staffing. She is a frequent speaker and facilitator for other libraries and organizations.  Named the 2012 South Carolina Outstanding Librarian by the South Carolina Library Association, Huggins currently serves as the chair of the Urban Libraries Council and president of the South Carolina Association of Public Library Administrators. 

William M. Trafton III Outstanding Student Award for Leadership

Given annually to an outstanding student leader.

Lindsay Rogillio
Lindsay Rogillio has led our student organization, LISSA, and our school in all kinds of endeavors. She has created policies and procedures and documentations.  She has done the hard work of leadership to ensure that subsequent leadership will have a smooth transition. She's moved all documentation to the university system. Her leadership and delegation has contributed to the success of LISSA.

Special Award of Merit (SAM)

This is a special award of merit to honor someone whom the director deems has contributed to the School of Library and Information Science.

Tom McNally
Tom McNally is dean of libraries at USC. He continually supports our school. He mentors our students and helps mold them and the next generation of leadership in our field. He is a continual source of help and inspiration to the faculty and staff of the school.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.