Skip to Content

Department of English Language and Literature

Directory

Faculty/Staff Name Title Secondary Title Phone Email Keywords Department
Faculty Amadon, Samuel Associate Professor MFA Director; McCausland Faculty Fellow 803-576-5983 amadon@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Bajo, David Professor 803-576-5974 bajo@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Barilla, James Associate Professor 803-576-5889 barilla@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Benson, Schuler Graduate Student PhD Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant bensonij@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Blackwell, Elise Professor eliseblackwell@outlook.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Brinkmeyer, Robert Claude Henry Neuffer Professor Emeritus of Southern Studies 803-777-2340 brinkmey@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Britton, Jeanne M. Affiliate Faculty Curator, Irvin Department of Rare Books and Special Collections; Core Faculty, Comparative Literature 803-777-9145 JBRITTON@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Brock, Kevin Associate Professor 803-576-6002 kmbrock@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Brown, Paul Tolliver Senior Instructor 803-777-4203 brownpt2@mailbox.sc.edu English, Language and Literature
Staff Butler, Grace Graduate Student MFA Student, Graduate Instructional Assistant Gb15@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Buzbee, Heather Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant hbuzbee@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Capps, Brittany Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant bmcapps@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Chun, Elaine Associate Professor 803-576-5986 chune@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Cochran, Shannon Senior Instructor 803-777-4203 ferrism@mailbox.sc.edu English
Faculty Cohen, Debra Rae Distinguished Professor Emerita 803-576-5961 drc@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Collins, Alyssa Assistant Professor 803-576-5886 ac95@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Cooper, Mark Garrett Professor 803-576-5991 coopermg@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Coriale, Danielle Assistant Professor 803-576-5842 dcoriale@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Countryman, Liz Assistant Professor McCausland Faculty Fellow 803-576-5891 countrym@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Courtney, Susan Professor and Chair 803-777-7120 courtney@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Cowart, David Distinguished Professor Emeritus cowartd@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Crocker, Holly Professor 803-576-5962 hcrocker@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Davis, Cynthia Professor 803-777-4203 cjdavis@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Dellinger, Elizabeth Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant delline@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Dings, Fred Associate Professor 803-777-9047 dings@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Disterheft, Dorothy Professor Emeritus ddisterheft@sc.rr.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Doxtader, Erik Professor erik.doxtader@gmail.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Dubinsky, Stanley Professor 803-777-2208 dubinsky@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Edwards, Jonathan Assistant Professor edwardjj@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Ercolini, Gina Associate Professor Director, Speech Communication and Rhetoric 803-576-5953 ERCOLINI@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Etman, Colleen Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant cetman@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Feldman, Paula C. Wallace Martin Professor 803-576-5894 feldmanp@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Fenske, Mindy Associate Professor 803-777-6595 fenske@sc.edu English Language and LIterature
Faculty Finney, Nikky - John H. Bennett, Jr. Endowed Professor of Creative Writing and Southern Letters - Carolina Distinguished Professor 803-777-9433 finneylc@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Fisk, Nicole Plyler Senior Instructor Associate Director of First-Year English 803-777-7528 fisknp@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Forter, Greg Professor and Associate Chair 803-576-5895 gforter1@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Friend, Christy Professor Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies 803-777-2993 chfriend@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Garriott, Deidre Director of the Writing Center & Instructor 803-777-2078 deidreg@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gavin, Michael Associate Professor Director, First-Year English mgavin@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gehrke, Pat J. Professor 803-576-5958 gehrke@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gieskes, Edward Associate Professor 803-576-5909 gieskese@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Glavey, Brian Associate Professor 803-576-5535 glavey@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Graves, Sammantha Senior Instructor 803-777-6863 gravessm@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Greven, David Professor 803-576-5945 dgreven@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gulick, Anne W. Associate Professor 803-576-5969 agulick@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gwara, Scott Professor 803-777-9493 gwaras@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Harrell, Kristin Graduate Student PhD Candidate; Graduate Research Assistant kharrell@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Harrigan, Laiken Graduate Student PhD Student, Graduate Instructional Assistant Laikenh@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Hawk, Byron Professor 803-576-5910 hawkb@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Hawley, Craig Graduate Student PhD Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant hawleyc@email.sc.edu English Language & Literature
Staff Hawthorne, Chelsea Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant cdh7@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Highfield, Haley Graduate Student MA/MLIS Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant highfieh@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Holcomb, Chris Professor 803-777-2253 holcombc@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Horne, Austin Graduate Student PhD Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant cahorne@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Hubbard, Scott Graduate Student PhD Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant Sh99@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Hyunwook, Kim Graduate Student PhD Student hyunwook@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Jackson, Leon Associate Professor 803-576-5948 jacksol@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Jarrells, Anthony Associate Professor 803-576-5993 jarrells@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Jelly-Schapiro, Eli Associate Professor Director of Graduate Studies 803-777-4203 jellysch@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Johnson-Feelings, Dianne Professor 803-466-5646 dianne@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Jones, Caitlyn Graduate Student PhD Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant cejones@email.sc.edu
Staff Kennedy, Michael Graduate Student PhD Candidate; Graduate Teaching Assistant Mjk3@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Keyser, Catherine Professor 803-576-5957 catkeyser@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Kim, Lindsey C. Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant kimlc@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Kruidenier, Daniel Senior Instructor kruideni@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Langley, April Associate Professor Director, African American Studies (803) 777-7248 langlea@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Lee, Seulghee Assistant Professor 803-777-4203 seulghee@mailbox.sc.edu English
Staff Leimbach, Sydney Graduate Student MA Student, Graduate Instructional Assistant leimbach@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Levine, Nina Professor Associate Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences 803-777-0525 levinen@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Liming, Samantha Graduate Student MFA Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant sliming@email.sc.edu
Staff Liu, Qiandi Assistant Professor 803-777-2635 Qiandi.Liu@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Lynn, Steven Dean, Louise Fry Scudder Professor South Carolina Honors College 803-777-2128 lynns@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Madden, Ed Professor 803-576-5995 maddene@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Medl, Matt Graduate Student MFA Student, Graduate Instructional Assistant mmedl@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Miller, David Lee Carolina Distinguished Professor Emeritus dmill1951@gmail.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Minett, Mark Associate Professor 803-576-5972 minett@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Motte, Jesse Graduate Student MFA Student, Graduate Instructional Assistant jmotte@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Muckelbauer, John Associate Professor 803-576-5944 muckelba@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Newman, Grayson Graduate Student MA Student, Graduate Instructional Assistant - Writing Center Tutor gnewman@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Oberempt, Alexandra Graduate Student MA Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant oberempt@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Ozselcuk, Evren Senior Instructor 803-777-2339 ozselcuk@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature; Film and Media Studies
Faculty Pellechia, Marianne Senior Instructor 803-777-9776 PELLECHM@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Powell, Tara Associate Professor 803-777-4203 tfpowell@gmail.com English Language and Literature
Staff Reed, Alissa Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant Aw38@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Reed, Ashlyn Graduate Student MA Student, Graduate Instructional Assistant reedan@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Reeher, Jennifer Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant jreeher@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Rees-White, Gareth Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant gareth@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Rhu, Lawrence Distinguished Professor Emeritus rhul@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Rice, Thomas Jackson Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-9493 tomrice@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Richey, Esther Gilman Professor Emeritus 803-777-4203 richeye@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Rivers, William Distinguished Professor Emeritus riversw@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Root, Kenny Graduate Student MA Student Kr45@email.sc.edu
Faculty Rule, Hannah Associate Professor McCausland Faculty Fellow 803-576-5975 ruleh@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Schell, Katie Graduate Student MA Student, Graduate Instructional Assistant kschell@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Schoeman, F.K. Associate Professor 803-576-5885 fkschoeman@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Scott, Patrick Distinguished Professor Emeritus (803) 777-1275 scottp@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Shields, David S. Carolina Distinguished Professor 803-576-5980 dshields@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Shifflett, Andrew Associate Professor 803-576-5977 shifflett@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Silva, Claire Graduate Student PhD Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant cpsilva@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Smith, Jacob Graduate Student MFA Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant jcs35@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Smith, Kaitlyn Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant Kes16@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Smith, Madeline Graduate Student MA Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant mms30@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Steele, Meili Distinguished Professor Emeritus steelem@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Stern, Rebecca Associate Professor 803-777-2171 stern2@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Stoker, William Parker Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant wstoker@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Tanner, Sarah Graduate Student PhD Student, Graduate Instructional Assistant St48@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Trafton, Scott Associate Professor 803-576-5890 traftons@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Vanderborg, Susan Associate Professor 803-576-5905 sjvander@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Walker, Patti Senior Instructor 803-777-9776 walkerpc@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Weldon, Tracey Professor Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Graduate Education Close-Hipp (803) 777-1250 weldont@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Wells, Richard Graduate Student PhD Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant rjwells@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Whitted, Qiana J Professor 803-576-5981 whitted@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Woertendyke, Gretchen Associate Professor 803-576-5954 woertend@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Xan, Christina Graduate Student PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant cxan@email.sc.edu English Language and Literature

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©