Skip to Content

Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

  • Students talking on a bench.

About

In order to understand a language and culture, you need opportunities to truly become a part of the culture. The Department of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures offers broad instruction in 12 languages and their cultures, spanning most of the globe. 

Contact Us

If you are looking for an individual, search our Faculty and Staff Directory. For additional information or assistance, please contact one of our team members.

 Prof. Kurt Goblirsch

Department Chair
Kurt Goblirsch
Phone: 803-777-9734
Email: kurt@sc.edu

 

Chair's Assistant
Le'Nora Whittley
Phone: 803-777-9734
Email: whittley@mailbox.sc.edu

Mark Beck

Assistant Chair & Undergraduate Director
Francisco Sanchez
Phone: 803-777-9734
Email:sanchezf@mailbox.sc.edu

 Rebecca Janzen

 

 

Graduate Director
Rebecca Janzen
Phone:
803-777-0473
Email:janzenr@mailbox.sc.edu

Chris King

 

Graduate Student Services
Chris King
Phone: 803-777-0473
Email: kingcj2@email.sc.edu

Tim McAteer

 

Placement Testing Coordinator
Tim McAteer
Phone: 803-777-0816
Email: flplace@mailbox.sc.edu

 

 

Undergraduate Student Services, Scheduling Coordinator
Phone: 803-777-4884

 

Office Manager
Kim Chong
Phone: 803-777-4881
e-mail: chongk@mailbox.sc.edu

Carla Watson

 

 

Budget Manager
Carla Watson
Phone: 803-777-4882
e-mail: watson97@mailbox.sc.edu


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©